Home News INEC Holds Fresh Election In Some Polling Units In Kogi Next Saturday

INEC Holds Fresh Election In Some Polling Units In Kogi Next Saturday

INEC Holds Fresh Election In Some Polling Units In Kogi Next Saturday 

Princess-Ekwi Ajide Abuja

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, says in line with Section 24(3) of the Electoral Act 2022 and Clause 59 of INEC Regulations and Guidelines on the Conduct of Elections 2022, fresh election will be held on Saturday 18th November 2023 in Polling Units where result sheets were completed before the commencement of voting in Kogi State.

A statement by the National Commissioner and Member Information and Voter Education Committee, Mohammed Kudu Haruna, said the decision to hold fresh elections is subject to the Returning Officer’s determination of the application of the Margin of Lead Principle.

The Commission however, noted that this decision is without prejudice to its avowed commitment to follow the audit trail of personnel and materials to ascertain those who may have been complicit in undermining the process and apply appropriate sanctions where necessary.

According to the statement, the Commission reiterates its assurances to voters in Kogi State that their votes will continue to count and their wishes respected.

The statement further noted, that the most critical incident occurred in nine out of 10 Wards in Ogori/Magongo Local Government Area (LGA) and that the Commission received reports of similar and other incidents in Adavi (5 Polling Units in Okunchi/Ozuri/Onieka Ward), Ajaokuta (5 Polling Units in Adogo Ward), Okehi (1 Polling Unit in Eika/Ohizenyi Ward) and Okene (5 Polling Units in Obehira Uvete Ward).

It said results from the affected Polling Units have been accounted for in Form EC40G for the four LGAs whereas, in the case of Ogori/Magongo LGA, only the result of Oshobane Ward II with eight Polling Units and 2,264 registered voters has been collated.

Election in the other nine Wards (Eni, Okibo, Okesi, Ileteju, Aiyeromi, Ugugu, Obinoyin, Obatgben and Oturu) involving 59 Polling Units and 15,136 registered voters remain suspended.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here