Home Sports FG Inaugurates Committee to Investigate Vandalization Of Abuja Stadium

FG Inaugurates Committee to Investigate Vandalization Of Abuja Stadium


By Princess-Ekwi Ajide, Abuja

The Federal Government has inaugurated an investigative committee to unravel the circumstances leading to the vandalization of the Moshood Abiola Stadium and recommend measures to forestall recurrence.

The Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare while inaugurating the committee led by DIG Sanni Mohammed (Retd) noted that while the failure of Nigeria to qualify for the Qatar 2022 World Cup is not only regrettable but also left millions of football loving Nigerians unhappy and angry, making them to ask for changes, it is not enough to condone the acts of vandalism and destruction of public infrastructure like the Moshood Abiola Stadium, built with tax payers money and the benevolence of private individuals.

He said the Federal Government will not sit by and allow individuals, no matter their ages to just wilfully damage and destroy Federal Government Infrastructure and as such he is inaugurating the committee on the acts of vandalism and destruction of the Stadium and the committee has two weeks to conclude its assignment and submit its report.

According to the Minister, it is an investigative committee and they will be given necessary access to the stadium, they will be provided with the CCTV footage, they will have access to every relevant person connected with the football match and also the Ministry, Nigeria Football Federation(NFF)and other relevant agencies.

Mr. Dare, said the terms of reference of the Committee include unraveling the remote and immediate causes of the incident; determine the extent of the destruction; investigate the security arrangement and the role of security generally; identify the culprits; identify victims where we have them; make recommendations on how to prevent future occurrence, not just for the Moshood Abiola Stadium but all stadia across the country in terms of crowd control after the games, amongst others.

In his response, the Chairman of the Committee, DIG Mohammed (Retd) thanked the Minister for finding members of the committee worthy of the national assignment, promising that they will discharge their responsibilities without fear or favour, and assist the nation prevent a reocurrence of the unfortunate incident.

Other members of the investigative committee are Dr Henry Nzekwu (vice chairman), Commodore Omatseye Nesiama(Retd), Alhaji Abba Yola, Dr Simon Ebhojiaye, Mrs Tayo Oreweme, Mr Mitchell Obi, a representative of the Director General of the Department of State Security(DSS) and Mr Olumide Bamiduro, who will be the secretary.

The committee has two weeks to turn in their report.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here